Friday, January 7, 2022

HAPPY NEW YEAR

 Dear All,


Welcome back post-Christmas.

So, it's been quite the year, hasn't it? Or two years. We've seen some ups and downs with COVID and other things going on in the world, and personally 2021 was a bit of a rough year for me. Work issues, relationship break up because of COVID restrictions, lost a dog, and spent 2/3rds of the year wading through my dissertation for my master's degree. Now that's all done however, I'm settling into my new job and I'm making plans for actually having some fun and excitement in the new year (yes, even with COVID playing havoc with our lives).


Hopefully, this means that in the future I'm going to be blogging a lot more. There are articles that I've meant to write but never got round to. There's more to say on male abuse victims, and the story of Johnny Depp and the like, so watch this space.


In the meantime, hope you had a good Christmas/holiday, happy new year, and look forward to making it a good one with you all.


Sincerely,


The Invisible Man

Friday, September 24, 2021

WHY RICHARD DAWKINGS DROPPED A BOLLOCK IN 2006 AND AFTER

 Dear Readers,


Many of my readers will have heard of Professor Richard Dawkins, an Oxford zoologist born in 1941, who made his name in 1976 with his book 'The Selfish Gene'.  Professor Dawkins was born and raised for the first eight years of his life in Kenya, when it was still a British colony. Interested in science but brought up with a Church of England (Protestant) culture, Professor Dawkins was something of a believer until deciding in his teenage years that Darwin's Theory of Evolution provided a more feasible explanation.

Years later, he returned to England with his family, studying primarily in Oxford, and eventually graduating from university in 1966. Lecturing in California and Oxford, he made his name with books on evolution such as 'The Selfish Gene' and pro-atheism publications such as 'The God Delusion' of 2006.

Sadly, Professor Dawkins had a stroke in 2016, but fortunately it wasn't fatal.

Personally, I was never a fan of Richard Dawkins. I liked some of the things he said - certainly some of his ideological opponents were just downright deranged - but generally I always found him to be rambling, pompous, snobbish, and with the charm and warmth of a blobfish in an ISIS costume (something lost on his more sycophantic then-teenage fans). Besides, I always found Stephen Hawking carried a much more interesting and convincing philosophy on atheism than Dawkins ever did, but that's another story.

Unfortunately, Professor Dawkins, has the occasional habit of saying things that aren't merely misinterpreted by moral hysterics, but are genuinely weird and actually quite disturbing. I'll start off with his quotes that he made on Eugenics in 2020.


"If you can breed cattle for milk yield, horses for running speed, and dogs for herding skill, why on earth should it be impossible to breed humans for mathematical, musical or athletic ability?"


I'll just let that sink in.


"I wonder whether, some 60 years after Hitler's death, we might at least venture to ask what the moral difference is between breeding for musical ability and forcing a child to take music lessons."


Because my parents getting me to do piano lessons with my neighbour didn't involve the cruelty of literal extermination of human beings considered "inferior".


"Intelligently designed morality would have no problem with negative eugenics,"


Pretty sure that's what they all say.


Perhaps because of the above point I made.


"Just because Hitler wanted to do something is not in itself an argument against it.


Except perhaps that we're not talking about the Nazi anti-smoking adverts or animal rights laws, we're talking about things like forced sterilisation and culling.

(Though you know I personally despise the "woke" crowd for their appalling treatment of male abuse victims and still do not condone their ham-fisted faux morality, in this case I actually agree with their reason behind disliking what Dawkins has to say here.)

This could all have something to do with the fact that Dawkins was brought up in a colonial farm in Kenya - then a British colony - in the 1940s. European colonialism made widespread use of the idea of eugenics, the modern version being conceived by half-cousin of Charles Darwin, Sir Francis Galton. Of course, this is open to interpretation, and it may be simply that Dawkins has taken his views on Eugenics from a distortion of the theory of evolution through his study of the latter subject.

In 2014, Professor Dawkins took another morally dodgy step on twitter in his response to a woman who admitted that she would have a "real ethical dilemma" if pregnant with a down syndrome child. This was Dawkins' response.


"Abort it and try again. It would be immoral to bring it into the world if you have the choice."


(Ironically providing an unintentional argument AGAINST abortion.)

When people started asking questions, this was his response.


"I can't help feeling that at least half the problem lies in a wanton eagerness to misunderstand."


"If your morality is based, as mine is, on a desire to increase the sum of happiness and reduce suffering, the decision to deliberately give birth to a Down's baby, when you have the choice to abort it early in the pregnancy, might actually be immoral from the point of view of the child's own welfare."


I'm pretty sure a lot of Down's Syndrome people would have something to say in response to that.


"Those who took offence because they know and love a person with Down's Syndrome, and who thought I was saying that their loved one had no right to exist, I have sympathy for this emotional point, but it is an emotional one, not a logical one. It is one of a common family of errors, one that frequently arises in the abortion debate."

 

That sort of argument may be the case for a scientist wearing a shirt with scantily-clad women on, college students wearing dreadlocks or Chinese dresses, but this is a different kettle of fish entirely. 

This isn't an argument for or against abortion, but Professor Dawkins unwittingly provides quite the ammunition for the "pro-life" side of the argument.


Some might think I'm a "snowflake" or a hypocrite for objecting to points of view. That is not the case. I'm not pointlessly losing my shit over trivial ideas, nor am I demanding a grovelling apology or for Professor Dawkins to be forcibly silenced, but pointing out that the "Professor" has said some things in the past that can potentially encourage and cause actual harm to others.

However, these quotes are here really to just set the scene, and aren't the relevant quotes that I'm focusing on. Rather they're here to highlight that this is a man who carries some rather dodgy points of view, to say the least, but now I'm going to focus on ones that, in the context of the purpose behind my blogging, are downright outrageous and actually quite damaging.


When Dawkins wrote 'The God Delusion' I decided to eventually take a look, and though I thought that there were some interesting points to be made, and 


Here is one of the quotes I read in the book:


"All three of the boarding schools I attended employed teachers whose affections for small boys overstepped the bounds of propriety. That was indeed reprehensible. Nevertheless, if, fifty years on, they had been hounded by vigilantes or lawyers as no better than child murderers, I should have felt obliged to come to their defence, even as the victim of one of them (an embarrassing but otherwise harmless experience)."


Bravo, Professor Dawkins. Being touched without consent is an "embarrassing but otherwise harmless experience". Would you care to tell that to the individuals I encountered during my therapy sessions waiting for their turn? Would you tell that to people silently staring at the walls or in one case, a woman who was crying bitterly into her hands? For me, my own experiences happened in 2001. I had a breakdown about them in 2014, 13 years later.


It doesn't end there though. Here's more.


"I look back a few decades to my childhood and see things like caning, like mild pedophilia, and can't find it in me to condemn it by the same standards as I or anyone would today."


To be honest, it's nothing new to see abuse victims like Professor Dawkins rationalise and underplay their experiences, I'm not going to hold that to him. It's up to him to interpret what happened to him personally. What I really take issue with is the suggestion - based on a quote from a single woman - that religion is more damaging than paedophilia.  

I may be an atheist and a skeptic myself, but I'm not so far gone that I'll kiss the ground that Professor Dawkins walks on like so many of his online followers do (or used to, particularly in the late 2000s). Sexual assault of children is a devastating crime on society, and it is 100% an insult to compare general religious teaching (which varies from place to place) with child molestation and downplay the pain of the latter. It's an insult to the victims of child sexual assault, it downplays their (our) pain that is much more devastating than religious teaching and indoctrination, and it's a grossly irresponsible thing to say.

Dawkins came under fire for this in 2013 and rightly so. The Atlantic rightly referred to his words as  https://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2013/09/richard-dawkins-defends-mild-pedophilia-again-and-again/311230/

Once again, I'm not engaging in "cancel culture", in fact I think that if Professor Dawkins says things like this, he should be allowed to do so (especially to "give him enough rope to hang himself" as the saying goes), but I am entirely at liberty to criticise him for what he says here. And I am at liberty to say that I find him a deeply creepy and morally bogus man who makes my skin crawl. He shows contempt for people with disabilities, and he shows contempt for survivors of childhood sexual abuse.

This isn't just about Richard Dawkins, though. Even eight years on we see the same dismissive attitudes towards abuse victims. We see the innocent with lives ruined and their abusers given a free pass for various reasons. We see victims like Alex Skeel still accused of being the real abuser, of female abuse victims blamed for wearing "revealing clothing". (My own therapist told me he spoke to a woman who was raped as a schoolgirl, and her attacker blamed her for wearing a school uniform to which my therapist said "But you were a schoolgirl. What else were you supposed to wear?") 

In comparison, religious indoctrination in a free society can be actually quite easy to escape (though sadly this is not guaranteed). Sexual assault however, is a much tougher battle to fight.

Let's not forget that.



Sincerely,


The Invisible Man


(A) https://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2013/09/richard-dawkins-defends-mild-pedophilia-again-and-again/311230/


(AA) https://www.theguardian.com/science/2014/aug/21/richard-dawkins-apologises-downs-syndrome-tweet

Monday, September 13, 2021

ON 'APPROACH ANXIETY' AND WHAT THIS MEANS FOR ME AS A MALE SURVIVOR

Dear Readers,


I've just got back from being on holiday yesterday, and I gotta say how much I enjoyed myself. I didn't want to travel abroad with everything having been so precarious during COVID. However, since my M.A has rather taken the wind out of my sails, and other job stresses getting in the way (summer is my busiest time), I felt like I really needed a city break.

Since I was away in another city, I decided to just relax and enjoy myself, have a wander around and despite some of the stifling heat giving me a colossal headache on my first day, everything else was great. One particular experience I decided to try was approaching women in the local bars. 

Thing is, I recently came out of a relationship that fell apart due to COVID separation (she lived in another country) and usually my handful of relationships have been because either I was lucky enough that one time in that the girl has approached me (something of a rarity in general for blokes), or it was someone I'd known for years and we started feeling physically attracted to one another and decided to capitalise on it.

As far as I know, approach anxiety is a problem for most men, fear of having your ego shot down in flames is not a pleasant thing to risk, and fear of being misunderstood in the post-#MeToo environment, this feels even more precarious. However, as a male survivor of a female abuser, this fear is tripled, then tripled again. What's usually held me back wasn't so much the fear of my ego being damaged (other than perhaps the girl saying something genuinely unpleasant) but the fear of being unsafe. Will she slap me? Knee me in the crotch? Throw a drink in my face? Will the entire bar start laughing at me as some creep or loser? Will some jealous and protective boyfriend I don't know about threaten me?

Then there were other questions. 'Some of these women are stunning, they wouldn't even want to give me the time of day.' This one evening, I'd actually managed to overcome most of my nerves by telling myself that I was excited, not nervous (and by having a beer with my pizza), and dressing fairly smart and stylish. When I got to the bar with my friend, I completely lost my nerve and started to freeze up. I started feeling genuinely scared of approaching a girl at the bar, in case something terrible happened. My friend noticed that I was completely frozen up and tried to reassure me, even though I was a gibbering wreck, and he just stepped back and let me to it.

Then I leaned against the bar and gently introduced myself - breaking the ice by asking the nearest girl if she had room to be served at the bar, or if the bar staff had noticed her yet. I wasn't so much trying to actually "score" so to speak, but rather get over that initial barrier that to approach an attractive woman was wrong or dangerous or both. I ended up speaking to about five of them, and you know what I discovered?

Everything was fine. They were just friendly and open to being talked to. If you think about it, it makes sense because women who seem hard to approach are probably not going to be approached at all by guys. Even if they're not into guys (lesbian/other LGBT etc), then 

Obviously as a male survivor, if your abuser was female, this may be difficult to overcome, and believe me, I found it incredibly tough. However, I would like to reassure you guys that there's nothing to be afraid of. I once did the same thing when I was on holiday in Sweden, approach a girl and talk to her at a bar, and while I was too awkward to successfully maintain a conversation, let alone attract the girl I spoke to, nothing terrible happened. She didn't set the bouncers on me or anything, but just made her excuses and left, which was kind of a relief.

This being the case, I'd like to offer a few pro-tips to guys who are recovering from abuse and want to learn to start interacting with women again.


1) Make sure you're looking after yourself. Wash and shower regularly, and make sure that you have a decent change of fresh clothes.

2) The past is not where you're going. Most women you approach in a bar are unlikely to be aggressive or hostile.

3) Make sure that you also look after yourself mentally. If you find that you're at risk of giving yourself a panic attack by trying this out then you're probably not ready to approach women yet.


What I started doing when I was on holiday was when I was in the bar, I made it my mission to approach at least one woman (in the end I spoke to five of them) and open up an interaction. That was it. I didn't feel ready to try and take it any further, and if you want to start trying the same exercise, here are my suggestions.


1) Remember, being out of your comfort zone is where you grow as a person. It may feel scary, but you'll feel dead brilliant afterwards.

2) If you want to talk to a woman, try and approach one who seems to be pretty sober, drunk girls are the ones more likely to act inappropriately, and make you feel uncomfortable.

3) Start off by something simple to break the ice. This could be introducing yourself, or asking if they have room at the bar to be served, something chivalrous is a great start.

4) Don't start by immediately launching into chat up lines as to why she needs to follow you home (women don't feel comfortable with this going 0 to 60).

5) Choose your time and place wisely. A bar or a club is a pretty obvious place, but this could be anywhere. However, there are some places that women will feel less comfortable with being approached, or they may just not be in the mood (say, if their heads are buried in a book). Also, some cultures may be more reserved than others so consider that depending on where you - and she - comes from. 'Read the room' and assess for yourself

6) Practice by just opening up conversations if you don't feel comfortable with escalating to something more intimate - these have to feel natural, such as asking someone for directions or if they know of a good restaurant to eat in. These can be in a queue in a shop or at the post office, and try opening these discussions with people in general, not just attractive women.

7) Usually if you get rejected, a woman will just probably say something like 'thanks but no thanks' and excuse herself. Obviously don't go chasing after her if you get rejected, or be rude or overly invasive, or try and touch her in a way that she feels uncomfortable with. If she says 'no' or 'no thanks' then leave it at that. Be respectful. Always treat others the way you want to be treated yourself. (I don't doubt that you would follow this golden rule, but I feel I have to put this just in case there's someone reading who didn't get the memo.)

8) Likewise, do not let her treat you badly either. If she behaves in a way that you feel uncomfortable with, whether she's being rude or too hands-y for your liking, then tell her 'no' and make it crystal clear that she's in no doubt, and end the interaction. You don't have to put up with being treated badly.

9) Have fun and relax! If you make mistakes, that's OK. None of the terrible things you suspect will happen are actually that likely at all. Hostility and aggression usually comes between drunk friends.


Obviously I'm saying this based on my own experience, but at the same time I'd like to pass on whatever information that might be helpful. As time goes on, I'll probably discover more and if anything can help you guys out, I'll let you know right away.

In the meantime, I hope that this helps!


Sincerely


The Invisible Man

Thursday, August 19, 2021

D.V. IN LESBIAN AND GAY RELATIONSHIPS

 Dear All,


So, it's been a chaotic 2021 so far, and now that we're 2/3rd into the year, a lot has happened.Recently I've been distracted by my dissertation, and an unfortunate bullying situation at work that I might tap into at some point. 

Here in the UK, COVID-19 while diminished, is still present, and is a problem being faced by other countries. Sadly, it has also proven to be disastrous for victims of domestic violence, who have found themselves shut in with their abusers and no means of escape.

As you all know, this blog is about spreading awareness to male D.V and S.A. survivors, particularly - though not exclusively - of female abusers. However, for now I'd like to start a conversation regarding another group that I feel is relevant.

LGBT domestic violence.

My reasons for this are twofold. Firstly, because these include male victims of abuse again.*

Secondly, because female victims of female abuse in lesbian relationships seem to have similar problems to male victims of female abuse.

(I have no information on "non-binary" people or other demographics of abuse victims that haven't been covered, but if anyone has any information I'd be very interested to hear it.)

Another reason that has occurred to me at this time of writing is that while male victims of sexual and domestic abuse have started to gain ground over the past few decades thanks to us and our supporters elbowing into the public consciousness bit by bit (e.g. Mankind Initiative, Johnny Depp & Alex Skeel), they still remain obscure and resistance against them still exists in mainstream for now.

However, while male victims of domestic or sexual abuse get little ground, lesbian victims of domestic abuse from other women seem to get no awareness at all - unless their abuser is a male rapist or an ex-boyfriend pre-coming out. While personally I'm no expert, I expect that for them it must be excruciating, to be forgotten, alone, and not feeling like abuse from a same sex partner must feel truly invalidating..

A few of my lovely followers on twitter have already told me about experiences and disclosures from third parties on the subject, but if anyone has any experiences of D.V. in LGBT relationships, particularly lesbian relationships, please feel free to D.M me directly on twitter. Let me know if there's anything you want awareness spread about the subject, what you wish people would understand, what organisations might help you. If you want to share any stories, I promise to be discreet, and I won't share them publicly unless you give me express permission to do so and I notify you first.

For victims of domestic abuse in LGBT relationships, there are organisations out there to help you such as galop (formerly brokenrainbow) and stonewall, links are below this article. There are sadly few of these, but this may be something that we can change.

If anyone thinks that I'm removing my focus from heterosexual male victims of abuse, this is not the case, no more than bringing up male victims of abuse takes away from female victims of male abuse. Like I said, this still includes male victims of abuse, but if female victims of female abuse are as neglected as I think, then that's another group worth helping. Compassion is not finite, and I think that COVID has shown that in many people.


Sincerely,


The Invisible Man


*Erroneously these are used by so-called "feminists" to tell people that male victims are only ever abused by other men, but I doubt that the numbers are truly high enough to justify this.


https://www.stonewall.org.uk/domestic-violence-and-abuse-resources-lgbt-people

https://www.escis.org.uk/community-and-living/broken-rainbow-national-helpline/

Thursday, July 29, 2021

WIKIPEDIA GUIDE TO GOALPOST SHIFTING AND LIES

Dear Readers


Wikipedia is a site in which a lot of information is available instantly at the click of a button for virtually anything. History, science, politics, literature, you name it. It's also a gold mine of further citations for other pieces of information on links its editors use to back it up.

Unfortunately, in recent years - as you will know - the site has gained a reputation for being unreliable, hence when I've been studying in university I was always urged not to use wikipedia for referencing. And it seems that when it comes to female on male abuse, it hasn't improved at all.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domestic_violence_against_men

When it comes to the subject "criticism" things start to go to shit right from the start.

"Many critics have rejected the research cited by men's rights activists and dispute their claims that such violence is gender symmetrical"

"Many critics". Not much of a citation.

"arguing that MRAs' focus on women's violence against men stems from a misogynistic political agenda to minimize the issue of men's violence against women and to undermine services to abused women"

Isn't that convenient? The idea that anyone wanting to help male abuse victims is the ever-present "MRA" boogeyman who simply wants to hurt women out of spite. What an erroneous crock of shit.

A 2008 review published in journal of Violence and Victims found that although less serious situational violence or altercation was equal for both genders, more serious and violent abuse was perpetrated by men. It was also found that women's physical violence was more likely motivated by self-defense or fear while men's was more likely motivated by control.

PROFILE OF AUTHORS The authors are Ravneet Kaur and Dr Suneela Garg. It's difficult to say who Ravneet Kaur is but Dr Suneela Garg is likely to be this person:

https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Suneela-Garg

She's published several articles on domestic violence, and virtually none of them acknowledge male abuse victims.

Thing is, India has also already seen women's groups dismiss male abuse and rape victims as to be taken seriously, as happened in 2013:

https://www.deccanherald.com/content/309399/womens-groups-reject-ordinance-threaten.html

Whether or not she was part of this is another matter. Unlikely, but it shows the atmosphere present among the professional class here as well as in the western world.

Also, note the phrase "Less serious situational violence or altercation was equal for both genders". This is basically what we call goalpost shifting.

They also make good use of weasel words to basically minimise the actions of female abusers.

Also, isn't it interesting that they say "women's physical violence was more likely motivated by self-defense or fear" as if to protect a pre-conceived idea?


"Another 2011 review published in the journal of Aggression and Violent Behavior also found that although minor domestic violence was equal, more severe violence was perpetrated by men."

Note the use of "minor domestic violence was equal". There's a sense of desire to minimise here.

A 2011 systematic review from the journal of Trauma Violence Abuse also found that the common motives for female on male domestic violence were anger, a need for attention, or as a response to their partner's own violence.

You hear that? If your girlfriend or wife slashes you with a kitchen knife, she just wants your attention and it's all your fault. How sweet and adorable.

Another 2011 review published in the journal of Aggression and Violent Behavior also found that...men were more likely to beat up, choke or strangle their partners, while women were more likely to throw things at their partner, slap, kick, bite, punch, or hit with an object

Again, there's the damaging implication that being slapped, kicked, bitten or having things thrown at you is harmless. Anything to protect the concepts of "toxic masculinity".

Researchers have also found different outcomes in men and women in response to intimate partner violence. A 2012 review from the journal Psychology of Violence found that women suffered disproportionately as a result of IPV especially in terms of injuries, fear, and posttraumatic stress.The review also found that 70% of female victims in one of their studies were "very frightened" in response to intimate partner violence from their partners, but 85% of male victims cited "no fear". The review also found that IPV mediated the satisfaction of the relationship for women but it did not do so for men

They're setting the bar REALLY high for male abuse victims here. If you're not suffering from PTSD or afraid for your life, you don't count as a DV victim. If you're not outright murdered or in danger of being as such, you don't count as a DV victim. If you don't realise that what's happening to you is abuse, you don't count as a DV victim. The ideas of the researchers seem to be preying on the ignorance of female on male abuse and the fact that many of these men might not realise that it's happening.

So who is writing the 'psychology of violence' then? Well, apparently, the current editor is Professor Antonia Abbey from Wayne State University. "I have a longstanding interest in women's health and preventing violence against women.  Most of my recent research focuses on understanding the etiology of men’s sexual aggression," 

https://clasprofiles.wayne.edu/profile/ab8222

Clearly someone who has a vested interest in male on female violence, but none in violence vice versa.

Gender asymmetry is also consistent with government findings. According to government statistics from the US Department of Justice, male perpetrators constituted 96% of federal prosecution on domestic violence.

Prosecution. It's not common for women to be prosecuted for abuse as shown above, so to use prosecutions as proof for their theories is more than a bit dishonest because it totally discounts crimes in which the perpetrator has got away with it.

Another report by the US Department of Justice on non-fatal domestic violence from 2003–2012 found that 76 percent of domestic violence was committed against women and 24 percent were committed against men.

There is another problem with this report, which seems at odds with the 2011 findings anyway, but James Landrith, SA survivor says it best on the Good Men Project in April 2012:


https://jameslandrith.com/2012/01/25/why-yes-rape-can-be-gendered-against-men-and-by-women/ 

This is of course depending on the statistical model. These models, with all of their obvious built-in bias, are then parroted around as if they are apples to apples comparisons of male and female predation. As such biases and outright distortions are often used to eliminate them from from data sets or intentionally isolate such data in lesser or hidden categories, we have no real idea of just how many female predators exist today.

Dr. Ruth M. Mann of the University of Windsor, an expert on sociology and criminology, stated her opposition to the gender symmetry theory of domestic violence on the grounds that women as well as children are the main victims in the "annual pile up" (Coyle, 2001) of victims being murdered by intimate partners and fathers throughout Canada (AuCoin, 2005; Ogrodnik, 2006)

Once again we get to the active opposition to the idea by Dr Mann on the grounds of bad faith, again setting the standard for male abuse victims to be so high that it cannot be reached, and male victims of female abuse are again invalidated by these same old lies.

And somehow this seems to be at odds with the "women are strong and equal to men" message. It's seems this only applies when it suits them. Suddenly, when it comes to DV, men are the stronger ones. One minute they bravely battle against "gender roles" then bravely get into bed with the same "gender roles" when it suits their own bias.

In an open message to these "activists" and "academics" I say this.

Our stories are real and deserve to be heard. We are NOT "All lives matter". We are NOT, as you imply, abusers getting our just desserts. We are NOT overstating abuse, if anything we fail to recognise it when it happens. If we discredit your ideas and careers by existing, then that's tough. We are NOT here to disappear for you and your careers' convenience.

We are NOT going away, get used to it.



Sincerely,

The Invisible Man

Thursday, June 10, 2021

MINIMISING LIES USED AGAINST MALE ABUSE VICTIMS

Dear Readers,


Please excuse the long absence, I've been having a bit of a rough time with a few personal trials, and with a M.A. course to catch up on, all while I've adopted a new dog, so life has been very busy.

However, I decided to come back to help arm most of you folks if you come across the all too frequent myths and lies and dismissals used on male abuse survivors and advocates of, usually by concern trolls, abuse apologists and extremists and just morons of various stripes.

Luckily, these are pretty easy to debunk so I urge you all to use these arguments if confronted by them.


"The vast majority is done by men to women but it does happen to men as well"

This is the most common minimising language, usually aimed at minimising the presence of male abuse victims. For a while, every single article on male abuse victims seemed to start this way. The authors seem to be under the impression that bringing up the subject takes something away from female abuse victims (such as resources or attention). There is no evidence whatsoever to prove this paranoid fear.


"We don't deny women can abuse sometimes"

We can all hear the "but" coming. "I'm not racist but." Usually the person writing this will argue that female abusers are as rare as a unicorn, and so irrelevant to the wider picture, and will almost certainly use one of the usual excuses you see down below.


"Patriarchy hurts men too"

This is basically concern trolling, pretending to be concerned about the same subject matter, but actually selfishly manipulating. "Give me power and I'll pretend that I'm going to help you." Rest assured, the person in question has no intention of helping male abuse victims, and is more interested in manipulating the target of their rhetoric. The conspiracy of patriarchy is based on assumptions rather than an objective way of looking at the world. It assumes that every man is powerful and every woman is disenfranchised, and again, it's nonsense, or male abuse victims wouldn't exist, simple as.


"Any man abused by his partner is weak."

This may be based on fear, but it's bullshit. Being abused doesn't make you a weak person, man or woman. Abusers target people out of their own insecurity, desire to control, in other words, out of their own weaknesses. Being abused can make you feel weak, believe me I know, but it's not a fault of yours that they target you. Nobody makes anyone abuse them, it's the abuser's fault 100% every time.


"Abuse of men is rare"

An old fashioned trope that's based on old fashioned ideas. Firstly, it's based on either forgetting or omitting the fact that an abusive action by a woman (such as forced sexual activity) aren't counted in the same way as an abusive action by a man, even if the action is identical. 

https://jameslandrith.com/2012/01/25/why-yes-rape-can-be-gendered-against-men-and-by-women/

With this technical bias, it's not possible to use those unreliable and useless statistics to accurately work out the correct number of female abusers. According to figures from 2018, over 690,000 men in the UK have been victims of domestic abuse. Not exactly a small number in and of itself.

Secondly, it's the neo-Victorian premise that women are all entirely childlike and delicate creatures who can do no harm to a man, which is a strange anachronism in a time when the same people who say this are also saying that women are just as capable as men in combat and the police. Which leads me to:


"Men who are abused by their female partners aren't in fear of their lives"

This is what we call "shifting the goalpost". As soon as stats show even middling to high levels of abuse of males, there's always some dullard who comes up with this argument. Unfortunately for them, abuse isn't restricted to lethal actions. According to the UK government, domestic abuse includes: 


  1. Emotional abuse 
  2. Financial abuse
  3. Psychological abuse
  4. Physical abuse
  5. Sexual abuse


Nothing in that list suggests that abuse has to be lethal violence to count as abuse. If you're emotionally tormented or controlled by a partner and you're not in danger of death, you're still being abused.


"As patriarchal oppressors, men can't be properly abused the same way women are"

Conspiracy theories are unfortunately all too common, and this statement is based on an idea, not a fact. The truth is that the idea of patriarchy has about as much weight as the 'Protocol of the Elders of Zion'. It assumes that every man is powerful and every woman is not, forgetting the existence of female lawmakers, judges, millionaires, politicians, etc. This makes zero difference when someone is pouring a pot of boiling water on you while you sleep: https://www.itv.com/news/anglia/2019-03-07/were-still-so-far-behind-says-domestic-abuse-survivor-as-government-pledges-500k-to-help-male-victims

One of the funniest examples I once came across on one blog was "I can't hurt men, the patriarchy would destroy me if I harmed a hair on their heads" (which comes across as a good argument for the mythical "patriarchy"). This is self-evidently laughable nonsense, because if it were true, there wouldn't be a single male victim/survivor of domestic or sexual abuse.


"Any guy who gets raped by a woman should be grateful. What is he a pussy?"

Rest assured, the sort of morons who use this worthless argument haven't a clue. I almost didn't want to bother with this one, it's so stupid, but I'll use the analogy that there's a difference between drinking a beer, and drowning in a vat (or eating a bar of chocolate and having the whole thing forced by someone else into your gullet without being unwrapped).


"Men who are abused don't speak up about it because of toxic masculinity"

This shortsightedness is unfortunately typical of modern discourse. True, one of the reasons male abuse victims don't speak up IS because of fear of being seen as not masculine enough (for status among peers, among women, etc). However, this is part of the bigger picture.

Discourse does not include male abuse victims to the extent that they exist in the public conscious. Abuse is most often being defined by the very same people as something men do to women to a lethal degree. Rape is defined as being forced penetration by a man, and yet these assumptions conveniently forget that in the UK, forced sexual activity by a husband on his wife wasn't considered rape until 1992. Male rape wasn't on the statute books until 1994. Would we call forced sexual activity that happened before those dates rape just because they weren't legally defined as such back then? No. So why do we do the same thing here?

Let me also remind people that Amber Heard said to Johnny Depp "tell the world, I, Johnny Depp, a man, am too an abuse victim, and see how many people believe or side with you". Oh, how telling!

If we live in a society that is NOT accepting of male abuse victims and shows not nearly enough sympathy or support to them, we can't by definition expect male abuse victims to speak up on their own part because what's in it for them?


"I wouldn't let myself be abused by a woman/he could've defended himself."

That's a broad assumption based on nothing. Abuse doesn't happen because someone is weak, but because the abuser is at fault. Besides, if a man is being slapped by his wife in public and he does defend himself, what do you imagine will happen? Most likely he'll be confronted by bystanders or even attacked.


"Women commit abuse in self defence"

By definition, abuse is NOT the same thing as self defence. There is little to no evidence for this either, and is based on ugly prejudices and unbelievable ignorance and stupidity by the writer.


"Most statistics that show parity are cited by MRA misogynists"

The favourite boogeyman, the "MRA misogynist". Unfortunately for them, the evidence goes quite a long way beyond the depths of reddit and Paul Elam &c.

Actually, stats are changing as time goes on and as we learn the ugly realities of abuse. Stats like these are changing. According to the CDC in the U.S. if we exclude rape for a moment (again, defined solely as an action performed by penetration by the legal statutes) and stalking, all other forms of violence against males were perpetrated by females.

http://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/pdf/nisvs_report2010-a.pdf,

To wantonly blame some imaginary "MRA" (or better still "incel") conspiracy is frankly, pathetic.


"Male abuse victims take resources and attention away from the more urgent plight women who are killed every year"

It is a tragedy what happens to these victims.

Having said that, you don't have to be left a literal corpse to be classed as an abuse victim. There is absolutely no evidence that male victims of abuse take away attention or resources (particularly in one of the richest countries in the world). Beating male abuse victims over the head with the corpses of dead female victims isn't just disgusting, it isn't just damaging to male abuse victims, it's an insult to the women who've been killed. It's crass and disrespectful to both parties, and shows nothing more than a selfish and fragile ego on part of the speaker.


"Most studies showing male abuse victims don't ask how many of them are in same sex relationships."

Considering how much smaller the LGBT community in the U.K or the U.S is compared to the non-LGBT population, this would have to rely on the idea that there is a lot of violence in LGBT relationships. I believe that abuse among same sex couples doesn't get nearly enough of a look-in, but there's just not enough same sex couples to account for that idea. 


"Men are abused by other men, not women"

See above the CDC. Also, when it comes to rape, it seems that even changing the law to include forced to penetrate cases, there is opposition in some places that is quite telling:

https://www.jpost.com/israel/womens-groups-cancel-law-charging-women-with-rape

https://www.deccanherald.com/content/309399/womens-groups-reject-ordinance-threaten.html


Again, I'd like to remind people of the shocking fact that male rape and marital rape weren't even on the statue books in my country until the early 1990s. 


"Men who are abused by women have probably done something to deserve it."

Now we're going down 4th and Amber Heard street. This is victim blaming, pure and simple. Nobody deserves to be abused, and anyone who says disgusting crap like this is part of the problem. Dismiss it.


If you come across these bullshit arguments yourself, hopefully this will help. Certainly they'll probably double down on their arguments, but don't let that sway you. You probably won't change their mind, but if it changes the mind of someone else listening to you, then all the better for it.



Sincerely,


The Invisible Man

Wednesday, June 9, 2021

REVELATION ON JOHNNY DEPP

 Dear Readers,


I've been away for a while, and this is likely to continue for now since I have a dissertation and three essays to complete for my master's degree, while at the same time holding down my job, so I've been rushed off my feet and am likely to continue being so, but I've managed to find a quiet moment to get back to you guys. Don't worry, normal service will resume, but for now, let's get into the blog subject. 

As many of you are aware, and just like many of you, I'm a supporter of Johnny Depp, and as a survivor of a female abuser myself, it never fails to aggravate me to see mainstream feminists completely dismiss, ignore, slander, or deride male abuse victims and their (our) supporters, while at the same time maintaining a stranglehold on public discussion and action on domestic and sexual abuse (e.g. #metoo), resulting in male victims of abuse being discarded and continuously left to rot by society.

Recently I came across a thread on the subject, and since some of you Depp supporters are feminists yourselves as such, I thought I'd take a look.

https://www.reddit.com/r/AskFeministWomen/comments/hs2ueg/why_arent_feminists_outraged_about_amber_heard/

The thread fortunately seems to be supportive of, or at least sympathetic to, Johnny Depp.

although I think feminism needs to speak out more on male victims of abuse, and men being falsely accused of abuse and rape, I think the genuine reason is that... they/we are afraid of the consequences of us making it a big deal.

at a glance, it might seem like its because we care less. thats not the reality. we do care, a lot. but there are anti-feminists who continuously invalidate feminism and victims of abuse by bringing up victims of false accusations. you can go on ANY youtube video regarding abuse or rape, and you will find comments of people bringing up false accusations. i have unironically seen people believe that up to 90% of all rape cases.... are false!

i think some of us fear that if we get outraged about cases like these, we invite anti-feminists to continue their hateful agendas


This surprised me, since I was mostly under the impression that denialism among feminists was based on agendas of huffpo journos, womensaid and politicians such as J*ss Ph*llips trying to protect their livelihoods (or some, out of mere spite and in the name of petty revenge). 

I'll be blunt though, this isn't good enough.

An innocent man has had his name tarnished and his career ruined publicly, after being violently assaulted and emotionally abused by his wife. It's a disgrace, and to blame antifeminists is a cop-out.

Helping male abuse victims doesn't take away from women's rights. A man being abused by his girlfriend or wife does nothing to help women's rights. Indeed, it's often feminists who tell men that "equality isn't like a cake, just because someone has greater rights than you doesn't mean you lose yours". So why does it change in these circumstances?

It won't set back the progress made for female abuse and rape victims, there's no evidence for that. If some male abusers pretend they're the wounded party, unfortunately female abusers do that too, so that's generally an abuser thing. If you want to prevent abusers playing the wounded animal (as Heard did), you have to educate yourself on the subject, before educating anyone else.

Telling the truth, if anything, strengthens your position. Let me give a personal example. When I was 16, after a long period of abuse, I punched a bully in the face enough to give him a severe nosebleed. Afterwards, I owned up to what happened, and I was completely honest about it, I didn't get punished for it. If anything, the guy I punched and I both made up and that was it.

The consequences of supporting male abuse victims of female abusers may disrupt and discomfort those who are wedded to the dogma of "men bad women good" but since these are people's lives we are talking about, that's a small price to pay. If you truly DO want a world in which people don't care about gender, then have the spine to stand up and be counted, and prove that you DO care about both false accusations (also a weapon used by female abusers), and male abuse victims of female abusers.

If as a feminist you support male victims of female abuse and do so without inhibition, you show yourself (and your movement) to be courageous, honest, and full of integrity. If as a feminist however, you continue to allow or encourage society to leave male abuse victims to rot, then you will expose your true colours as being without courage, moral fibre or integrity.

The choice is yours.


Sincerely,


The Invisible Man